The Rappahannock River Roundtable is a strategic partnership of stakeholders dedicated to land and water conservation, community outreach and education, and capacity building throughout the entire Rappahannock River Watershed.

The Roundtable is a collaborative of organizations working to accelerate the pace of water quality improvement and pollution reduction guided by the Virginia Phase III Watershed Implementation Plan (WIP), the Chesapeake Bay Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL), and many local TMDL implementation plans.

Started in 2016 through the financial support from the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), the Roundtable has grown in size, membership, and impact. In 2019  and 2022 the National Fish and Wildlife Foundation supported the efforts of the Roundtable with an Innovative Nutrient and Sediment Reduction (INSR) grant to focus on capacity building and best management practices prioritized by local partner organizations.

This site shares resources, projects, and upcoming opportunities for professional development.

Symposium Committee Members

Bryan Hofmann
CoordinatorRappahannock River Roundtable

Deputy Director
Friends of the Rappahannock
540-373-3448 x112
bryan.hofmann@riverfriends.org 

 9432 N James Madison Hwy,
Rapidan, VA 22733

Justin Proctor
Coordinator – Virginia Grassland Bird Initiative (Smithsonian’s Virginia Working Landscapes)

607-229-6255
ProctorCJ@si.edu

Lauren Huey

Director of Environmental Communication

Green Fin Studio

lauren@greenfinstudio.com

804-832-0630

Lauria McShane
Assistant – Virginia Grassland Bird Initiative (The Piedmont Environmental Council)

(540) 977-2033 ext. 7056
lmcshane@pecva.org

October Greenfield

Co-Coordinator – Virginia Grassland Bird Initiative (The Piedmont Environmental Council)
ogreenfield@pecva.org
(540) 347-2334 ext. 7051

Roundtable Partners

Lowery Becker
Non-Point Source Specialist
Northern Neck Soil & Water Conservation District
804-313-9102 x104
lowery.becker@nnswcd.org

5559 Richmond Road Suite B
Warsaw, Virginia 22572

Michelle Edwards
Regional Environmental Planner II
Rappahannock-Rapidan Regional Commission
medwards@rrregion.org
540-829-7450

420 Southridge Parkway Suite 106
Culpeper, VA 22701

Shereen Hughes
Assistant Director, Wetlands Watch
Virginia Coordinator, Chesapeake Bay

Landscape Professional Program
757-880-6802
shereen.hughes@wetlandswatch.org

2601 Granby Street
Norfolk, VA 23517

Laura Hassell
Land Conservation Specialist
Northern Virginia Conservation Trust (NVCT)
lhassell@nvct.org

Jack Ryan
Director of Environmental and Natural Resource Programs
Rappahannock Tribe
804-533-5488 x107
jryan@rappahannocktribe.org

5036 Indian Neck Rd
Indian Neck, VA 23148

Lisa Biever
Executive Director
Northern Neck Land Conservancy
Lisa@nnconserve.org
804 250-2334

483 Main Street, Suite B,
Warsaw, VA 22572

Eldon James
Coordinator- Rappahannock River Basin Commission
ejames7@me.com 
540-907-2008

Mikel Manchester
Associate Extension Agent
Virginia Cooperative Extension
mamanchester@vt.edu 

Aaron Wendt
Environmental Specialist
VA Department of Conservation and Recreation
Shoreline Erosion Advisory Service
804-296-1701
aaron.wendt@dcr.virginia.gov 

PO Box 1425
Tappahannock, VA  22560

Kendall Tyree, Ph.D.
Executive Director
Virginia Association of Soil and
Water Conservation Districts (VASWCD)
804-559-0324
kendall.tyree@vaswcd.org

7308 Hanover Green Drive, Suite 100
Mechanicsville, Virginia 23111

Bryant Bays
Regional Forester, Eastern Region
VA Department. of Forestry
540.558.8423
bryant.bays@dof.virginia.gov 

11301 Pocahontas Trail
Providence Forge, VA  23140

Marcie Kapsch
Refuge Manager
Eastern Virginia Rivers National Wildlife Refuge Complex
United States Fish and Wildlife Service
marcie_kapsch@fws.gov
804-366-7951

336 Wilna Rd
Warsaw, VA  22572

Jacob Gilley 
Mid‑Atlantic Sustainable Grazing Manager
American Farmland Trust
540-228-9938
jgilley@farmland.org

1150 Connecticut Ave NW Suite 600
Washington, DC 20036

John Odenkirk
Fisheries Biologist
VA Department of Wildlife Resources
540-899-4169
john.odenkirk@dwr.virginia.gov

1320 Belman Road
Fredericksburg, VA 22401